State wins Departmental Tennis League division title

The U.S. Department of State-USAID tennis team met with Secretary of State Antony Blinken, Aug. 15, to celebrate their first-place finish in the 2021 Departmental Tennis League (DTL) “A” division, with a record of 38 wins and 4 losses. DTL is a summer tennis league for federal government employees, on-site contractors, and family members in Washington. Founded in 1915 during the Wilson Administration by an Interstate Commerce Commission clerk named Louis I. Doyle, DTL is one of the oldest tennis leagues in the United States. The State Team has won the League trophy 17 times, the first in 1951. Only the Army team—with 26 wins—has won more. 

State Department Photo

Previous articleMaking a Statement | Maryum Saifee
Next articleConsulate General Almaty showcases diverse voices