Passionate Professionalism

Department’s 2019 award recipients demonstrate leadership and strength

2019 Award Winners

2019 Award Winners Citations

Perlita Muiruri

Award for Excellence in Labor Diplomacy
For critical contributions to landmark labor reforms and trade negotiations that protect American jobs, improve the lives of Mexican workers, and promote broad-based benefits from expanded international trade.

Clifton E. Neal

General Services Officer of the Year
For leveraging the full measure of U.S. government and host country resources to deliver vast service improvements and significant cost savings across Mission Japan.

Julius O. Norberts

Foreign Service National of the Year (AF)
For outstanding performance as a senior Foreign Service national investigator leading security operations that protected 2,000 employees and their family members and enabled U.S. Mission Kenya’s diplomatic, economic, humanitarian, and security engagement to continue countrywide despite the prevailing threat of crime and terrorism.

S. Sophia O’Donnell

Mary K. Ryan Award for Outstanding Public Service
For her outstanding leadership of the American Citizen Services unit in Embassy Cairo, providing outstanding protection and service to U.S. citizens while setting a standard of excellence that inspired the performance and professionalism of her team.

Carla Ortega

Swanee Hunt Award for Advancing Women’s Role in Policy Formulation
For empowering female leaders to turn the tide of criminality in Costa Rica’s toughest neighborhoods.

John D. Patterson

Thomas Morrison Information Management Award
In recognition of remarkable achievement and exceptional leadership in the completion of an expeditionary U.S. Mission facility in Mogadishu, Somalia.

Return to top

Previous articleAbove and Beyond
Next articleYLAI training prepares entrepreneurs